CMUA Members' Actions in Response to COVID-19

Publicly owned electric utilities (POUs) and water agencies across California are suspending utility service shutoffs in response to the coronavirus pandemic. On April 2, 2020, Governor Gavin Newsom issued an executive order suspending water shutoffs and requiring reconnection of residences shut off as of March 4. Many POUs and water agencies across California began suspending shutoffs prior to the Governor’s executive order. Additionally, POUs and water agencies have reconnected those customers who may have been disconnected for non-payment after March 3, 2020. Some CMUA member utilities have restored service at occupied residences where service had been shut off for non-payment as early as January 1, 2020.

In addition to these emergency actions, California’s POUs and water agencies offer ongoing financial assistance programs, including volumetric rate discounts or annual bill credits, to help meet the needs of low-income or disadvantaged customers.

California’s POUs and water agencies utilize a variety of methods to inform residents about discounts and programs that help customers who may be adversely impacted by COVID-19. These methods include:

  • Information on POU and water agency websites addressing customer protections
  • Bill messaging or bill inserts
  • Social media posts: California’s POUs and water agencies frequently reach out to customers using Twitter, Facebook and/or Instagram.
Additionally, many POUs and water agencies are collaborating with local government agencies and community groups by posting flyers outside facilities and leveraging the communications tools these organizations have to spread the word about customer protections.

This is a list of CMUA members that have changed their policy and are suspending water and/or electric shutoffs and have reconnected customers who had been shut off for non-payment. Click on the links for more information.

Combined Utilities (Electric & Water)

Anaheim Public Utilities
City of Azusa
Burbank Water and Power
City of Cerritos
City of Colton
City of Corona
Glendale Water and Power
City of Healdsburg
Imperial Irrigation District
City of Lodi
City of Lompoc
Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Merced Irrigation District
Modesto Irrigation District
City of Needles
City of Palo Alto
Pasadena Water and Power
City of Redding / Redding Electric Utility
Riverside Public Utilities
Roseville Electric Utility / Roseville Environmental Utilities
San Francisco Public Utilities Commission (SFPUC)
City of Santa Clara / Silicon Valley Power
City of Shasta Lake
Truckee Donner PUD
Turlock Irrigation District
City of Victorville
City of Ukiah
Vernon Public Utilities

Electric Utilities

Alameda Municipal Power
Banning Public Utilities Department
Lassen MUD
City of Moreno Valley
Pittsburg Power Company - Island Energy
City of Rancho Cucamonga
Trinity PUD

Water Utilities

East Bay MUD
East Valley Water District
Eastern Municipal Water District
Elsinore Valley Municipal Water District
Irvine Ranch Water District
Las Virgenes MWD
City of Long Beach Water
Marin Municipal Water District
Placer County Water Agency
City of Sacramento Department of Utilities
City of Santa Ana
Valley Center MWD
Western Municipal Water District